the not quite chef

it's a messy kitchen

What happens when avocados are on sale

Avocados were on sale at Whole Foods recently. For a dollar each.

I bought five. Because that’s what happens when I get overwhelmed in the grocery store. I think that buying an excess of avocados is a good idea, when really, I live by myself and it’s going to be near impossible to eat all of them before they go bad.

Enter: a thousand ways to eat avocados. (Okay, maybe just two. I ran out of time and ingredients for more.)

Luckily, I could eat this salad forever. Arugula, chopped avocado, and tomatoes drizzled with basil infused olive oil (via Shutterbean, which I have been promoting all across the internetz). The addition of fresh cracked pepper and sea salt though really puts this into the oh-my-amazeballs category.

Annddd lunch for the week. It looks gross, but is happily delicious. Tuna fish with mashed avocado and tomatoes. (An idea I swiped from How Sweet It Is.)

I hate to admit that I let one beautiful avocado go to waste… but after a packed evening schedule, I couldn’t be bothered to attempt avocado frosting. Maybe next time…

September 30, 2012 - Posted by | Dinner, Lunch, Recipes, Veggie Friendly | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

