the not quite chef

it's a messy kitchen

Quick fix dinner

I’m no chef. Although this year I’m trying (making enough dinner on Sunday for leftovers all week), I’m still not the best at it. This is primarily because, well, I’m lazy.

I tend to work late, and the last thing I want to do when I get home from work is make a big meal. Bring in my boyfriend, on the other hand, who is the chef in our relationship – he pulls out all the stops when it comes to making his lunch and dinner for the week, and he’s pretty damn good at it.

For me, when I do cook (and I swear it’s more often now!), I tend to rely on recipes that take a half hour or less, as I don’t have the patience – or the time – to cook something during the week that takes any longer. This past week, my boyfriend and I decided to make dinner, and so we went for something that we knew would be super easy to put together: fish.

We’re both big seafood eaters, and fish is one of those really great foods that takes 20 minutes to cook and is packed with all kinds of good-for-you nutrients. We picked up some fish at the store, and even decided to make our own breadcrumbs, which only took five minutes! That, plus a side of microwave veggies and potatoes (hey, we had to cheat somewhere) and voila – dinner in 25 minutes.

Homemade Breadcrumbs
This may sound like a totally obvious recipe, but it took just minutes and was better than out of the can!

1 sleeve Ritz crackers
Oregano
Basil
Grated parmesan cheese
Pinch of garlic powder
Pepper

Put a sleeve of Ritz crackers in a Ziploc bag and smash them into breadcrumb size (make sure the bag is completely shut!). Add the spices and parmesan cheese to taste; for our version, we used more oregano than anything else. Shake the bag with everything in it, and the breadcrumbs are ready.

We used cod for the fish (although haddock would do just as well), dipping each filet in milk then sprinkling the breadcrumbs on top, with some pats of butter for flavor. We baked it for 20 minutes at 350 degrees, and dinner was served. Easy.

October 9, 2011 - Posted by | Recipes, Tips + How-Tos | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

