the not quite chef

it's a messy kitchen

Asparagus + lemon

I’m finally resurrecting the blog! It’s about time I focused on what I really love: food.

That said, I’m still a (very) amateur cook. In fact, tonight’s dinner was basically an experiment. I bought some fresh asparagus at Trader Joe’s on Sunday, planning to cook it with some pasta for dinner – which was really the result of trying to make an asparagus fettucini dish that failed miserably some months ago.

After a Google search told me that stir frying asparagus was a good enough way to cook it (and I’m a sucker for anything I can stir fry), I sliced up the asparagus, then cooked it on the stove for about 5 minutes, along with some garlic and fresh lemon juice.

Did all that while I boiled some whole wheat pasta and then – voila! A delicious (mildly healthy?) dinner – topped with grated Parmesan cheese and some red pepper flakes. Lots of lemon + garlic flavor, with just a hint of spice. And the cheese? Well, everything tastes better with cheese on it.

March 6, 2012 - Posted by | Recipes, Tips + How-Tos | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Lemon…never woulda’ thought!

    Comment by iamsnole | March 6, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

