the not quite chef

it's a messy kitchen

When life gives you overrripe bananas

Judging by a few posts before this, banana bread is becoming my thing. But that’s easy to explain: I end up with a lot of bananas.

Bananas are cheap (hello, 19 cents a piece at Trader Joe’s!), but I absolutely hate when they start getting all spotty and overripe. Thanks to my mom’s genius, she told me to just peel them, throw them in a plastic bag, and pop ’em in the freezer. Then, make banana bread when I feel like it! So I guess the moral of this story is… when life gives you too many ripe bananas, make banana bread?

I used the below recipe, which is from my mom’s Betty Crocker cookbook. Her version must be ancient, as I can’t find the same recipe anywhere – not on BettyCrocker.com, nor in the new edition Betty Crocker cookbook I have myself. So I stuck with what I grew up with – because it’s also super easy, and doesn’t require things like buttermilk or Bisquick, which I don’t have on hand. I substituted the milk for vanilla almond milk this time (because I never have real milk in my fridge), and it came out spectacular.

Betty Crocker’s Banana Nut Bread
2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/3 cup milk (or vanilla almond milk, if you prefer)
1 egg
1 cup chopped walnuts
1 1/4 cup mashed bananas (original recipe says 2-3 medium ones, but I would say 4)

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease bottom only of 9-inch loaf pan (unless using a non-stick silicone pan). Mix all ingredients. You can use a mixer and beat batter for 30 seconds, but it works just as well with your own arm strength and a wooden spoon. Pour into pan. Bake about 65-70 minutes until top is golden brown and a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool slightly. Loosen sides of loaf from pan; remove. Cool completely before slicing.

March 15, 2012 - Posted by | Favorite Foods, Recipes | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

