the not quite chef

it's a messy kitchen

Breakfast to make your coworkers jealous

It’s true. And it’s really a lot easier than you’d think.

I always eat breakfast at work (cause let’s face it – I can really use that extra half hour of sleep), and for a while I was doing the instant oatmeal thing. For some reason I was afraid to make “real” oatmeal… until I discovered that all you do is add water and microwave it for 2ish minutes. Piece of cake.

But what really makes it special, I’ve discovered? (And what makes all your coworkers start drooling?) Fresh blueberries.

Fresh blueberries make it look like you spent three hours mixing up oatmeal, but you just plop a few on top right before you microwave. I generally prepare my oatmeal the night before, and add the following ingredients: lots of cinnamon, golden raisins, and a few chopped walnuts if I have them.

Then it’s just in the microwave with some water (or milk, if you like it thicker and creamier). The best part is when the blueberries pop and your oatmeal turns all pink and purple, but gets yummy and gooey and sweet from the blueberry juices. Granted, the “after” picture isn’t what really makes your coworkers jealous… but I bet it’s still better than that granola bar you dug out of your desk drawer.

You can basically throw whatever you want into your oatmeal and it’ll taste great, but here are some more toppings/ingredients for inspiration:

– Brown sugar
– Sugar
– Mashed banana
– Craisins
– Slivered almonds
– Honey
– Fresh raspberries
– Maple syrup
– Pecans
– Milk

How do you make your oatmeal?

April 10, 2012 - Posted by | Breakfast, Tips + How-Tos | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I bake it with brown sugar, maple syrup, nuts, and dried cherries and call it granola!

    Comment by hillsidequilts | April 10, 2012 | Reply

    • Sounds delicious! I’ll have to try that when I get sick of blueberries 🙂

      Comment by Melissa | April 10, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

